1.) Mattoon Railroad Company.
This line was owned by the Wisconsin Timber & Land Company of Mattoon. It consisted of several miles of track leased from the Chicago & Northwestern and several miles built as spurs to serve WT&L's logging operations. Service began in 1889 on about nine miles of track leased from the MLS&W that connected the village of Mattoon with the future C&NW Ashland Division main at Aniwa. The line was run by the Mattoon Mfg Co., which was owned by George Mattoon of Sheboygan. It was operated as a private carrier until Feb 28, 1895 when the Mattoon Railroad was incorporated as a common carrier. In 1902 the line was extended south from Mattoon to Mattoon Jct located about 3.5 miles westnorthwest of Bowler. The line from Mattoon to Mattoon Jct was leased from the C&NW same as the Aniwa-Mattoon main. In 1906 the Mattoon Mfg. Co was renamed the Wisconsin Timber & Land Co. WT&L constructed several spurs off of the line running south from Mattoon. They extended the line from Mattoon Jct east for about 6 miles, almost making connection with the C&NW line that ran from Green Bay to Eland. There was a steep hill just southeast of Mattoon, and only 5 loaded cars at a time hauled to the mill. In 1912 the Mattoon Railroad discontinued operations. The lines from Aniwa to Mattoon and then to Mattoon Junction reverted to C&NW ownership and operation. The C&NW abandoned about a mile of track at Mattoon Jct in 1916. The remainder of the line south and east of Mattoon came up in 1935. The Aniwa-Mattoon branch lasted into the early 50's.
2.) Brooks & Ross Lumber Company.
Brooks & Ross had a spur line that connected with the C&NW about 2 miles east of Bowler and ran north into the Stockbridge-Munsee Indian Reservation. Brooks & Ross were actively logging in the area around 1917. Train operations were carried out by the C&NW.
3.) Whitcomb & Morris Railroad.
This line was constructed between the two towns of its name, in Jan. 1887 by the Stuart & Sprague Lbr Co. S&S's mill was located at Whitcomb. (about half way between Tigerton and Wittenberg on the C&NW Ashland Division main) Their logging camp was located at Morris about 3.5 miles to the northeast. Due to swampy and hilly terrain, about 7 miles of track were required to join the two locales. In 1888 Stuart & Sprague relocated their sawmill to Morris. the railroad was still required by the company, however, to connect the mill to the C&NW. Stuart & Sprague later became the Buckstaff & Sprague Lbr Co. The W&M was operated as a private carrier until June 23, 1896 when it was incorporated as a common carrier at the insistence of he state railroad commission. Like the Mattoon RR listed above, the C&NW owned the trackage and leased it to the W&M. Operations ended in 1917.