1.)Hawthorne Nebagamon and Superior. Located at Lake Nebagamon this line operated from 1899 until the fall of 1907. It was owned by Lake Nebagamon Lumber Co. which was intern owned by Fredrick Weyerhauser. The original portion of the line was constructed to give the mill (on the DSS&A) at Lake Nebagamon access to the CSPM&O at Hawthorne. The HN&S was incorporated as a common carrier on Aug. 14, 1898. This was done because Fredrick Weyerhauser didn't want to deal with the DSS&A. Interestingly enough, in the fall of 1899 the DSS&A's trestle over the CSPM&O near Hines Siding was burned in an arson fire. This forced the DSS&A trains to detour over the HN&S main from Lake Nebagamon to Hawthorne and then over the CSPM&O to Superior. At this time upwards of 30 trains a day were operating on this small railroad. The line from Lake Nebagamon to Hawthorne once had a mixed train that operated 3 times a week. Incidentally, the HN&S was chartered to construct a line between Superior and Ashland. The remainder of the HN&S was built for logging purposes and included several branches headed north out of Lake Nebagamon,Blueberry,Winnebijou, and Brule. HN&S had extensive trackage rights on the DSS&A and NP lines in the area. Interestingly enough the HN&S operated with two different styles of couplers and brakes. Its first 3 locomotives and 61 log cars came from the former Lake Superior Lumber Company Railroad. They all had link and pin coupling and hand brakes. Later several more locomotives and 58 more log cars were aquired with automatic coupling and air brakes. It seems that only certain locomotives could operate with certain cars. The older locomotives and cars seem to have been phased out by the end of operations.
2.)W.H Gilbert. Operations were located Poplar and Wentworth on the NP. Gilbert had trackage rights on the NP to allow his log trains to reach Superior. These spurs were operated in 1902. The next year Gilbert built a spur off of the CSPM&O at Hawthorne. It is unknown if there was any trackage agreement with the Omaha, of if the CSPM&O hauled the log trains to Superior themselves. Gilbert's operations at Hawthorne were conducted in 1903.
3.)Lake Superior Lumber Company. This line operated out of Gordon from August 1893 until 1897. Lake Superior Lumber was a contractor for the Musser-Sauntry Lumber Co. which was a Weyerhauser interest. The railroad stretched north from a connection with the CSPM&O near Gordon along Upper St Croix Lake, across the DSS&A a few miles west of Lake Nebagamon and ended a few miles north of there. There was also a major branch around the south shore of Lake Nebagamon. Logs were offloaded into Upper St Croix Lake. This railroad was often called the "Dobie Road" after David Dobie the contractor who who operated the railroad. Following abandonment, the line's 3 locomotives and its log cars went to the Hawthorne Nebagamon & Superior. Legend has it that a log train was left in the woods after abandonment, but like so many of these stories it is only so much hearsay.
4.)St Croix and Duluth. This line connected with the GN at Dedham (a few miles SW of Superior) This line was surveyed in the winter of 1898. Construction was carried on in the summer and fall of 1899 and was completed on Dec 15, 1899. The line ran until 1908 It was owned by the Empire Lumber Company of Winona Mn, this railroad extended south south east from Dedham to the St Croix River near Coppermine Dam. It cost Empire Lumber $90,000 to build. Logs were pulled out of the Black River where the railroad crossed over it, hoisted onto cars, and then hauled south where they were dumped into the St Croix for their final journey to Winona. The locomotives owned by the SC&D were all woodburning and cordwood was stacked at various locations along the line. The line that connected with the GN at Dedham was so steep that a locomotive could haul only one inbound car of supplies at a time. The company always had problems with burning out flues in locomotives used on this portion of the line. This was due to the steep grade causing all the water in the boiler to flow to one end. It is known that this northern connection was used to haul ties and logs to the Great Northern as well as to bring in supplies. The people who built the SC&D envisioned it as a larger railroad, connecting Grantsburg in Burnett County to Lake Superior. They saw it as becoming a commercially successful venture hauling passengers and freight in the area. Supposedly, when this line was torn up the salvage train was left where it had derailed and is supposedly still in the swamp today. The northern end of the railroad was left in place and was used by the Washburn & Northwestern and the David Tozer Lumber Co. railroads.
5.)Washburn & Northwestern #1. This line was owned by Edward Hines Lumber Company. It was constructed in December of 1902, and operations began in January of the following year. The trackage extended west from a connection with the CSPM&O at Hines across the SC&D almost to the Minnesota state line. Logging began in the area of Lyman Lake in 1904, moved to Amnicon Lake in 1906 and concluded in 1910 in the area around Foxboro. Logs were hauled south on the CSPM&O to Hines' mill in Hayward. The 1907 official guide shows a mixed train running between Hines and SC&D Jct. Like Washburn & Northwestern #2 on this page and the Washburn & Northwestern line in Northern Bayfield County, it seems that this was only a product of Edward Hines' dreams for what he envisioned his rail lines would become after logging was completed. In 1910, this operation was transfered to Virginia Minn.
6.)David Tozer Lumber Co. This company operated out of Hines from 1910 until 1915. Tozer used portions of track from both the Washburn and Northwestern and the St Croix and Duluth for his railroad. It extended west from Hines to where the W&NW and the SC&D met, it then turned southeast and south on ex SC&D track. This was the last logging railroad to operate in Douglas Co. Tozer was a contractor for the St Croix Timber Co. of New Richmond Wi, who were operating out of the forer Willow River Lbr Co mill there. Supposedly one of their trains is still in the woods in the area of Bear Lake.
7.)Washburn and Northwestern #2. This operation connected with the NP at Wiehe, which was a couple of miles east of Blanchard. The line was constructed north from Wiehe in December of 1902. Operations commenced in January of 1903 and continued until 1906. Along with W&NW#1, on this page, this line formed an imaginary railroad called the Omaha Blanchard & St Croix & Duluth, which was shown in the official guide to have mixed trains from Wiehe to a place called Pacific Junction. It all existed only in Edward Hines mind. It may have been a scheme for him to get free passes on all the other railroads, but was probably somewhat legitimate in that many operators believed that their logging railroads would become successful common carrier operations serving settlers once the timber was removed. Logs from this line were hauled west on the NP to what was called the McCord mill in Superior. Hines only owned the locomotives on the Washburn & Northwestern operations in Douglas County. In the case of this line NP flat cars were used. In the case of the #1 line flat cars,box cars, and cabooses were leased from the CSPM&O. There seems to have been some attempt to join the two sections of the W&NW in this county. Wisconsin RR Commission maps show a line running northwest from Wentworth joining the NP and DSS&A mains that was owned by the W&NW. Whether it was actually built is very doubtful. Other old maps of the state show a direct connection between the two sections of W&NW track in the county. It seems that there was much grandoise planning concerning the W&NW. Much of it never happened, but was recorded on state maps of the period and in the official guide as well making the task of sorting fact from fiction a difficult one.
7.5)South Range Narrow Guage. Located at South Range this tramway operated from 1891 until 1896. It was owned by the Nevers and Staples Lbr Co. It was only 2 miles long. The only reason I include it is that it is listed in ICC statistics. The SRNG, however, had wooden rails and all its locomotives were 1 HORSE power
etc. A spur of the Edward Hines Lumber Co operated in the southeast portion of the county. See Bayfield County south for info.