1.)Edward Hines Lumber Co. This line operated north out of Hayward in Sawyer Co. It ran from 1902 to approximately 1911. It was sometimes refered to as the Hayward & Northwestern or the Smith Lake & Northern. Its tracks were in the far southwestern portion of the county. In 1911 Hines relocated the operation to Virginia Minnesota and the mill was sold to the Willow River Lbr Co.
2.)Superior & Southeastern Railroad. This railroad has a very complex history so I'll deal only with the Bayfield county portion of it here. See also Ashland and Sawyer counties for more details. This railroad was incorporated as a common carrier on June 1, 1903 and began operations in that year. At the time it was owned by the Willow River Lumber Company of New Richmond Wi. It ran in a southeasterly direction from Grandview to Clam Lake (22.87 miles) in Ashland Co . In 1911 Willow River moved to Hayward into the old Edward Hines Lbr Co mill. Operations of the railroad remained the same. In 1920 the Park Falls Lumber Company, a Edward Hines subsidiary, aquired Willow River and began building a railroad north from Loretta in Sawyer County the following year. Park Falls' line connected up with the existing S&SE combining the two operations. The operations of the railroad were reversed at this time. During Willow River ownership logs moved north to a connection with the CSPM&O at Grandview, now logs moved south to the Park Falls Lbr mill at Park Falls and later Lorretta. The road's headquarters moved from Grandview as well. A significant number of logs continued to be hauled north to Grandview for the Namekagon Lbr Co, and the Dells Paper & Pulp Co. (Over a third of the total cars for the line.) This lasted until 1924 when the Bayfield County portion of the railroad was not needed and was removed from service in two sections. The first, 11.87 miles was abandoned on Feb 17, and the second consisting of 13.283 miles was abandoned on Dec 16,1925.
3.)White River Railroad. This narrow guage railroad served two mills both owned by Edward Hines subsidiaries. The Iron River Lumber Co. (former Alexander -Edgar) mill at Iron River and the White River Lumber Company mill at Mason. This railroad began operations in June of 1905 with 24 miles of track and equipment recovered from the recently abandoned Washburn & Northwestern. (see North Bayfield County page) An interesting part of this operation is that it ran on several miles of class 1 rail lines fitted with a 3rd rail to accomodate the narrow guage trains. A DSS&A spur from Mason to Bibon and the DSS&A main from Bibon to Iron River were both fitted in this way. The portion from Cusson to Mason was 3 railed in 1906, and that from Cusson to Iron River in August of 1908. Headquarters of the road was at Cusson approximately 10 miles southeast of Iron River on the DSS&A. Trains could travel to either one of mills as needed. There were several narrow guage spurs off of the DSS&A main. The WR main ran 24 miles southwest from Cusson into the town of Barnes. The enginehouse at Cusson burned in 1912 taking five of the company's eight locomotives with it. Operations to the Mason mill continued until 1912, when the mill burned down, and to the Iron River mill until 1914 (this mill burned down as well).
4.)Alexander-Edgar Railroad. This line operated south, west and east of Iron River from 1899 until 1906. Alexander-Edgar also made extensive use of steam skidders in the wintertime for log hauling as well. Edward Hines bought the A-E mill in 1906, but Hines' rail operations were seperate. See White River Railroad for details on Hines' railroad. Log cars owned by Alexander-Edgar had some sort of spring contraption, in that the cars would be unloaded automatically when they passed a certain point alongside the mill pond. Alexander-Edgar had trackage rights on the NP from the Douglas County line east through Iron River to a point 12 miles east of the county line.
5.)Drummond & Southwestern Railroad. This railroad, located at Drummond was owned by the Rust-Owen Lumber Company. this line began operations on August 30, 1891 with seven miles of track laid southwest from Drummond at a cost of $60,000. Eventually the line ran due south until it hit the Namekagon River. The D&SW was incorporated as a common carrier on Dec 1, 1895. However,the ICC reclassified it as a private company facility in 1908. Rust-Owen Lbr Co absorbed the D&SW on June 3,1912, and it existed after that only as the Rust-Owen Lumber Co. railroad. Link and pin coupling was replaced by standard coupling in 1910. Operations started in a southwesterly direction from Drummond. As time went on they moved due west, then northwest, then north. The final operation from 1926 until 1930 was due east of Drummond. Along with being the longest lived of Bayfield County's logging railroads it also was the last in operation. As a common carrier the D&SW was obligated to provide passenger service, but never hauled a paying passenger.